Six on Saturday: September 30, 2017

1. Rainy days as well as sunshine here in British Columbia. What a mix. It is fun to get work done for next spring and then get a rainy day of rest the day after! I have just about finished getting my bulbs ready for planting, with just one more package expected in the mail soon. Then the work begins.

2. Last year I bought a very small Hydrangea chinensis. It grew quite a bit this summer, but the stems seem weak still. I’m a bit worried about how it will handle wind, rain and snow, so had it staked with bamboo the other day to try to keep it strong enough to handle the elements.

3. Our front-of-the-house garden has undergone some changes since last winter. One large evergreen shrub had its branches broken from the weight of the snow. That one was removed in spring along with a Spirea bush. This week I had two smallish azaleas dug up. Their “evergreen” foliage was quite unsightly at all times of year. In their place we planted two ‘Fragrant Star’ Azaleas whose blue foliage I just love. Raindrops look like diamonds on their leaves. They are still small, but eventually should be 4′ tall and wide. They are deciduous.

This is the ‘Fragrant Star’ which we already planted last year in the back yard. The blooms will be white, the scent will be powerful!

These are the two new ones planted this week, near a clematis called Gravetye Beauty, which is red.

4. Things are definitely moving along toward Autumn. The Kousa Dogwood has developed its fruit and the Oakleaf Hydrangeas are changing colour.

5. Late flowering Allium Ozawa and Cimicifuga are both in bloom.

6. I am trying two experiments this Fall. One is a plant called “Pumpkin on a Stick” which is actually from the eggplant family. These are mostly grown for decorative purposes and the leaves are removed. (Read about it here: http://www.gardenersnet.com/vegetable/ornamentaleggplant.htm) This is my plant below. The foliage has not done well here but the fruits are very shiny!

My second experiment is a package which, after I follow directions, should grow us some Shitaki mushrooms. I hope it works well and will add flavor to a stir fry meal in about 3-4 weeks!. Wish me luck! I’ve wanted to do this before but never got around to it. (https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/round_tuit) There are 3 sets of instructions which are contradictory and this is a frustration!

*****

Read more entries for Six on Saturday here: https://thepropagatorblog.wordpress.com/
This entry from:
https://fromourisland.wordpress.com/2017/09/30/six-on-saturday-september-30-2017/

3 thoughts on “Six on Saturday: September 30, 2017

  1. We have had sunshine and showers here in the South West of Britain, too, but it is very rare that we get much snow.
    I thought I had received a large bulb order, then I saw yours!
    I wish I could grow Azaleas but our soil is too alkaline, so I have to admire other’s and I’m sure your ‘Fragrant Star’ will be wonderful when it flowers.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.