Early July, 2019

I have discovered that it was November 2018 when I last wrote on this blog. Rest assured, I stopped for a reason, but not because I wanted to. I was fully occupied with my husband’s health and care. He passed away in mid April. It is taking me a long time to relearn how to use Word Press, so bear with me. I am also learning about house upkeep, things such as gas leaks, malfunctioning wells, faulty windows in need of repair, and even small scale roof repairs.
I have been surrounded by visiting friends, taxes, paper work and banking. Best of all it was spring in the garden and although the weather has been strange with both rain and drought, it always thrills me to see plants emerge, especially my clematis. So now it is time to move on and enjoy my solitude…as well as a few activities unrelated to workmen!.

Clematis Tentel

I have switched to my husband’s computer and am doing OK with that. I also am using his cell phone as my camera mostly, and it is a tough learning curve for me with many apps added by my son. He has added many usefull gadgets to monitor electrical usage of all my appliances. He also exchanged every light bulb in the house to LEDs, so now, at great expense, I should soon see savings! LOL! Perhaps I’ll have a heat pump before winter.

The dog has a twice a week date to go walking with 4-5 other dogs for a morning hike. She comes back happy but tired. It is good for her to get out and socialize.


I am enjoying a few changes in the garden, removing some awkward trees and expanding a shade garden. Our drought has created a very dry brown lawn, but dispite the well problems, I have managed to keep perennials mostly alive.
I will share a few photos below, but in no particular order.

Expanding the shade garden
A visitor meets Sasquatch with my granddaughter
Two young ladies (9 and 10) whose mothers were friends when they were the same age! These are our grandchildren meeting for the first time. ❤️ Their days were filled with giggles, collecting stones and shells, looking for crabs and jellyfish, spotting humpback whales, deer and a seal, playing with walky-talkies, doing cartwheels, building towers and geometric shapes with magnets and rods, and eating ice cream…
Clematis Mikelite with Hydrangea
Clematis Pagoda

*****

6 thoughts on “Early July, 2019

  1. Please accept my condolences for the loss of your husband. No doubt it has been a hard time for you, dealing with his loss and learning so many new things. I’m glad you had family and friends to support you.
    I didn’t realise there was drought in the northern hemisphere as most gardening bloggers seem to have experienced a great deal of rain. Your garden looks lovely despite lack of rain.

    Like

  2. I’m so sorry for your loss and happy, as Jane says, that you have friends and family for support. All the administrative and technical stuff following such a loss can be daunting. Your Clematis are beautiful! My parents, in the Comox Valley, are also experiencing the drought and have had to change some gardening habits. Here in Southeastern Ontario, an unusually wet spring has given way to a typical hot, humid with no rain, summer. I’m hoping the well holds up. Take care.

    Like

    1. Very kind Chris. Many thanks! I will try to continue with the blog but am experiencing some  “technical difficulties” with Word Press. I’ll try to find time to figure things out!

      Like

  3. So glad to hear from you again. I suspected “real life” was the reason you weren’t writing. You sound as though you are coping with your husband’s death as well as can be expected. I hope you’ll continue to blog as I’ve followed you since before Reed’s death and like to hear what you and your family are doing. I’m also always interested in your gardening and seeing pictures. Stay strong.
    Anise

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.