Six on Saturday: September 23, 2017

  1. Fall began yesterday, and it looks like this in our garden:


2. We have worked hard all year and made an enormous pile of garden trash. There was a dead tree that crashed, winter snow damage all around, salmon berries and bamboo removed, tons of invasive lamium, a holly tree cut down and a great deal more. On Thursday all of this was removed for clean landfill. It took several truckloads. We now have a new open space. I’d love a potting bench in this area in the future….

3. Things are looking very much like late September now. We have had rain at last, and the fire bans have been lifted. This is the best time to tweak things in the garden and soon we will plant bulbs. Phoebe, our wonderful Bouvier des Flandres, is waiting for people to arrive.

4. The light is changing. It is dark here by 7:30pm.  This photo was taken around 6PM as the sun was sinking in the west. I love this path through our shady part of the garden.

5. I recently found the white Thalictrum that I was so fond of at our former home in Ontario. I hope it loves it here in BC!

6. For those who know me well, Clematis is almost always included in my posts. This is one of the last blooms on Clematis Gravetye Beauty, creeping along the ground. It is helping me learn to love red in my garden.

*****

Read more entries for Six on Saturday here: https://thepropagatorblog.wordpress.com/
This entry from:
https://fromourisland.wordpress.com/2017/09/22/six-on-saturday-september-23-2017/

3 thoughts on “Six on Saturday: September 23, 2017

  1. I’m really liking that this meme is developing an international participation. It’s great to learn about what people are up against elsewhere on this planet of ours. “Rain at last” you say; if I could I’d package some of ours and send it over to you. “Fire bans” is something we just don’t get (or appreciate the significance of). I’ve never thought of a Clematis as a ground creeper. Hmm. I wonder …….

    Like

    1. John Kingdon: “Normally”, we get rain all winter long. It is gloomy and tedious but spring and summer bring drought and the great concern about fires. This is very different from what I have been used to in my past when I lived in Ontario, Canada. I have seen clematis grown as groundcover around birdbaths. When i couldn’t find a structure for mine to grow on last spring, I decided to simply give this a try. It helped that I had a short bamboo “tripod” for it to get started on. I cna still have it climb if & when I find an obelisk.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.