Six on Saturday: October 14, 2017

Last Monday, Canadians celebrated Thanksgiving day. We celebrated with a fine dinner at our daughter’s home with her children. I made roasted root vegetables and prepared cranberry sauce for the occasion. She prepared the turkey as well as red cabbage. She also made an apple crisp for dessert, a request from her 3 chidren.

Things are very wet in our garden. I would love to share the rain with northern California which is suffering from fires these days and the loss of thousands of homes and increasing numbers of lives.

I have enjoyed the changing colours of grasses and foliage, but already I have cut back a few of the plants and grasses as they are sprawling from the rains.

These are six photos from my week here in British Columbia.

1. To my surprise, my Cardoon finally exploded into bloom!IMG_20171007_181317b

2. The shredded umbrella plant, Syneilesis aconitifolia, has turned a bright yellow which makes it stand out nicely against its surrounding companions.3. The creeping aster, Aster ericoides Snow Flurry, is in its second year. It blooms very late, but I love the way it weaves through the iris and other plants!IMG_20171008_111952b

4. Chocolate Eupatorium has been in my garden for at least 20 years now. In Ontario, it sometimes didn’t survive until bloom time because of early snows.  It is in bud this week and the foliage has remained dark.  In the summer I have to watch the plant carefully because it does wilt in too much sun and heat.

IMG_20171008_112102b

This plant makes a fine backdrop for Anemone Honorine Jobert.IMG_20171008_112139b

5. Podophyllum ‘Spotty Dotty’ is another favorite that has lived in my garden for years. Her fancy leaves have increased in size and after a few years of growth, she produces reddish pink blooms which dangle beneath her foliage. I was lucky to locate this plant years ago when it was small and cost very little. Now they are very expensive if you can find them.

This is what it looks like in May:

The blooms in June:How it looks today:

6. Tuesday was a weeding day. I’m not so fond of weeding and cutting back when it is wet and cool, but I dislike messy, so it was necessary. Most of the cleanup will take place in spring though.

*****

Read more entries for Six on Saturday here: https://thepropagatorblog.wordpress.com/
This entry from:
https://fromourisland.wordpress.com/2017/10/13/six-on-saturday-october-14-2017/

6 thoughts on “Six on Saturday: October 14, 2017

  1. It’s nice to see what’s growing in other parts of the world. I particularly like “Spotty Dotty” which, here in the UK, is comparatively cheap. Oh well, order placed. Just need to cut back an Epimedium to make a bit of space.

    Like

  2. This meme is like going garden visiting with a notebook. Syneilesis aconitifolia rings a bell from somewhere (Dan Hinckley’s book probably) Now on my wanted list. I bought Podocarpus ‘Kaleidescope’ to go with ‘Spotty Dotty’ in the hope I might get seed. Must plant it.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.