Six on Saturday: September 15, 2018

1.  Last weekend we participated in the local Fall Fair. The grandchildren entered many competitions and received lots of ribbons for categories such as “largest egg”, “smallest egg” , “5 vegetables”, “7 flowers in a floral bouquet”,  a photograph, etc.

The two boys, 8 and 6, received ribbons for their bouquets.

 

2. All three received ribbons for their vegetable entries. The youngest received the first prize ribbon! I laughed when I saw the tiny tomato he included because he is not at all fond of tomatoes.
IMG_20180909_111221b.jpgForrest-5-vegs

3. The oldest, 9, submitted crafts  and paintings:IMG_20180909_111020b.jpgCampsite

IMG_20180909_110912b

She also contributed a close-up photograph of a young heron on their property. I was impressed as she has just begun to use her camera.IMG_20180909_125014b

The 8 year old middle child also contributed his painting of birch trees with shadows.
IMG_20180909_110802C

4. The middle child also won the “dozen most different eggs” event, beating out his mother to his great delight. (His are in front with the yellow tag,  hers are placed behind his with a white tag).IMG_20180909_110714b

 

5. My friend Ryan gave a talk on melons from all around the world and we got to try some of them too. (So rainy! Several display tents blew down.)
IMG_20180909_114539b

6. I am told that the British Clematis Society annual Journal ‘The Clematis’ for 2018 is well under way and that they expect to publish on November 25th. At last I finished my article for the BCS in time. I was asked to write about our garden tour that took place last June. Each article is being proofread at this stage and my review was short and sweet!  What a relief.
Then today, I was invited by the local quilters to attend their slide show of the quilts displayed in all the gardens. I was so happy to see these photos because I had missed the day for contributers to tour the gardens due to a previous engagement.

Watching the photo show by the quilters’ GuildIMG_20180911_121410b

*****

Join us here where many share gardens from far and wide!

https://thepropagatorblog.wordpress.com/

6 thoughts on “Six on Saturday: September 15, 2018

  1. You’ve quite a collection of artists in those grandchildren. Very nice drawings indeed. I have to say, tho, that the heron took the cake for me. The presence of mind to photograph it & do it well! I’d’ve been staring w/my gob open. Congrats on getting your article done (& published). How wonderful you got to see the quilt/garden displays. I bet they were fantastic, from what I remember of your summer posting. You’ve had a full week!

    Like

  2. Jane, Leo’s teacher at school last year was fantastic. He encouraged art work in his classes and guided children in accomplishing wonderful things. Everyone was sad when he received a promotion and left the classroom to teach math to the teachers in our district!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.